Falcone's Crossroads

Where This Meets That

Wednesday Wordplay – Nada, Zip, Zilch . . .

I’m out for a walk recently with my 5-year old daughter, Ava.

The sidewalks have been marked with measurements for utility work.  Ava’s learning numbers, so she asks me to read each number we pass, “2000, 1000, 500,” and so on.

We work our way down to “0”, which she identifies correctly.  I ask her what it means, and she says, “It means ‘nothing’, right?”

“That’s right,” I reply, “It means ‘nothing’. Nada.  Zip.  Zilch.  Zippo!

Zippo?” she grins and puzzles.

“Yup.  Zippo.  Means zero.”

We stroll along, and she plays with the word.

“Zippo.  Zippo.  ZIPPO!

ZippoJust like that, she drops my hand, runs behind a bush beside the sidewalk and declares, “Daddy! Look what I found!”

And, so help me God, she stands and holds up a Zippo lighter!

Now, to varying degrees, coincidences are always cool.  I’m always amazed to reflect on how the universe evolved over presumably billions of years to line up in just such a way as to facilitate one coincidence or another.  But for my daughter to randomly discover a Zippo brand lighter behind a bush at just the instant I had taught her the word “zippo” left me with nothing more to say.

Nada.  Zip.  Zilch. Zippo!

2 comments on “Wednesday Wordplay – Nada, Zip, Zilch . . .

  1. Hellbilly Mama
    February 18, 2015

    That’s the kind of thing that makes you go, hmmmm. Lol. Great story, thank you.

  2. Grande Falcone
    February 18, 2015

    Thanks Hillbilly Mama. Hmmm indeed!

Add Comment:

Information

This entry was posted on February 18, 2015 by in Wednesday Wordplay and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
