Falcone's Crossroads

Where This Meets That

Book Review: DIVERGENT by Veronica Roth

This past spring, I read Veronica Roth’s novel Divergent at the insistence of my 12-year-old daughter, Maddie.  This summer, I asked her to write a guest review of the book for Falcone’s Crossroads.   When she pushed back, I reminded her that I’d read the entire book because she asked me to, so the least she could do would be to write a little review of it on my request.  Finally, she diverged from her original response and submitted the below review.

+   +   + 

Divergent coverI decided to read Divergent when my dad’s cousin recommended it to him about a year ago.

It is a dystopian novel that takes place in the far future, and the remaining people on Earth have created a society inside “the fence.”  Everyone is separated into five “factions.”  People are categorized in the factions when they reach age 16 based on their personalities.

Sixteen-year-old Beatris “Tris” Prior takes her aptitude test and finds out that she is a “Divergent,” which means that she can not be categorized or controlled.  She has to try to hide it because being divergent is dangerous.  Some people will stop at nothing to kill divergents.

Overall, I think Veronica Roth does a fantastic job capturing the feelings and emotions of a teenage girl in that situation.  I would give it 4.5 stars.  It would be five stars if it weren’t for every time Tris feels “the heat rise in her cheeks.”  It still remains one of my favorite books.

Maddie’s Divergent score: 4.5 Falcone Rings 4.5 Falcone Rings

2 comments on “Book Review: DIVERGENT by Veronica Roth

  1. mdmack
    July 29, 2014

    Good job Maddie. Love Granny

  2. CopperLeaf Treasures
    August 13, 2015

    How funny… I too am a Granny, but I alao read this book… I too have that feeling with the heat rising in her cheeks. Very perceptive of you. Good review for an interesting book.

Add Comment:

Information

This entry was posted on July 28, 2014 by in Books & Film and tagged , , , , , , .
