Falcone's Crossroads

Where This Meets That

Tuesday Tunage – Amason

“Tuesday Tunage” is a weekly spotlight for music I deem worthy of a spotlight. To make it worth all of our time, I’ll do my best to emphasize tunes you probably haven’t heard before that represent the art in all its glorious varieties.

But first, a soapbox, of sorts

I received some bad news last week.  My favorite radio station, Georgia State University’s “Album 88” will soon be handing over the keys to its analog signal to NPR programming between 5am and 7pm each day.

I know it’s not taking my job or giving me cancer, but it’s still a bummer.  I only listen when I’m in the car, where I don’t have internet or digital radio.  Album 88 has introduced me to tons of great music over the years, including many artists I’ve spotlighted here.

The good news is that there is a petition for like-minded people to sign that makes us feel like I’ve done our part to oppose, even if, as quotes the website of Atlanta’s already existing NPR station, GSU president Mark Becker has said, ““It’s happening. It’s not going to be reversed.”

If you’ve ever lost your favorite station and sympathize with my plight, I encourage you to do the same and sign the petition at www.change.org.

Introducing Amason

I’m reminded of one morning a few months back.  Sleep still in my eyes, I pulled into the parking lot of my urologist, to have a kidney stone removed.

I was a minute early to my appointment, and good old Album 88 introduced me to an alleged Swedish supergroup called Amason.  I wound up being a couple minutes late, but with a new song in my heart.

Later that day, my kidneys all clear, I researched Amason a little further.  Turns out that they’ve only produced a few songs so far, but one of those – “Went to War” – is quite superb.

And here is their song “Algen,” the one that helped to prep me for my procedure above.

I hope you enjoy.  In fact, I hope you enjoy it enough to throw your name onto the petition above and give Album 88’s daytime analog signal a second chance!

Add Comment:

Information

This entry was posted on June 3, 2014 by in Music Notes, Tuesday Tunage and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
