Falcone's Crossroads

Where This Meets That

Tuesday Tunage – “Crosseyed and Painless”

“Tuesday Tunage” is a weekly spotlight for music I deem worthy of a spotlight. To make it worth all of our time, I’ll do my best to emphasize tunes you probably haven’t heard before that represent the art in all its glorious varieties.

Music from the band Talking Heads is still very hit-or-miss with me.  Growing up in the 1980’s, I didn’t really know what to make of them.  I liked a few of their songs, but they just didn’t fit neatly into my early understanding of music as art.

Only after jam band Phish covered Talking Heads’ entire 1980 album Remain in Light at their Halloween concert in 1996 did I ever really give their catalog a deeper listen.  My ears still reject a good bit of their music, but Remain in Light is a great and unique album.

The second track from Remain in Light, “Crosseyed and Painless,” is probably my favorite song from the band.  Featuring frenetic, African-esque loops of congas and cowbells, funky guitar riffs, electronics blips, and in-your-face lyrics that assail the status quo, “Crosseyed and Painless” just rocks.
.

Add Comment:

Information

This entry was posted on May 27, 2014 by in Music Notes, Tuesday Tunage and tagged , , , , , , , .
