Falcone's Crossroads

Where This Meets That

Tuesday Tunage – “Everlong”

“Tuesday Tunage” is a weekly spotlight for music I deem worthy of a spotlight. To make it worth all of our time, I’ll do my best to emphasize tunes you probably haven’t heard before that represent the art in all its glorious varieties.

Dave GrohlFew musicians can claim careers on par with that of Dave Grohl.  In the early 1990’s, Grohl sat in the long, black shadow of manic depressive Kurt Cobain, playing drums for grunge pioneers Nirvana.

After Nirvana disbanded following Cobain’s death in 1994, Grohl had brief flirtations with Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers, as well as fellow “grunge rockers” Pearl Jam, before grabbing a guitar and launching himself front and center with a highly successful solo career that would become known as Foo Fighters.

While I’ve never considered myself a Foo Fighters fan, their song “Everlong” is a favorite.   Few love songs have ever rocked so solidly or made me bounce quite like “Everlong” does.  With tremendous energy and lines like, “Breathe out, so I can breathe you in, hold you in,” and the classic lyrical hook, “And I wonder, when I sing along with you, if everything could ever feel this real forever; if anything could ever be this good again.  The only thing I’ll ever ask of you, you’ve got to promise not to stop when I say when!”, “Everlong” was a clear high point in late 1990’s rock.

One comment on “Tuesday Tunage – “Everlong”

  1. Pingback: Tuesday Tunage – “Lazy Eye” | Falcone's Crossroads

Add Comment:

Information

This entry was posted on February 25, 2014 by in Tuesday Tunage and tagged , , , , , , , , .
