Falcone's Crossroads

Where This Meets That

Friday Five – Heavy Quotes

I admit that I’ve been lagging a bit on my The Monday Jump! posts.  The idea there is to select quotes that are deep enough to apply to everyone but simple enough to be accessible by my kids, and it’s not always easy to find quotes that meet both criteria. It’s not always easy to find the time.

Today, I present five quotes that are a little deeper than those I feature on Monday mornings, quotes that mean more with a little more mileage behind. Enjoy!

+   +   +

• “When I was 5 years old, my mother always told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down ‘happy’. They told me I didn’t understand the assignment, and I told them they didn’t understand life.” – John Lennon

“Some people die at 25 and aren’t buried until 75.” – Benjamin Franklin

“Every gun that is made, every warship launched, every rocket fired, signifies in the final sense a theft from those who hunger and are not fed, those who are cold and are not clothed.” – Dwight D. Eisenhower

“Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.” – Source debated

• “Of all sad words of mouth or pen, the saddest are these: it might have been.” – John Greenleaf Whittier

Have a great weekend, Everyone!

Add Comment:

Information

This entry was posted on July 26, 2013 by in Friday Five and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
