Falcone's Crossroads

Where This Meets That

Caleb’s New Blue Room!

We moved into our current home eight years ago, a week before our son Caleb was born.  Among our plans at the time was to convert the “new baby’s” room into a nursery.

We had all these wonderful visions for how it would look, but as days turned into weeks and months and years, and Caleb grew from an immobile infant fascinated with crib mobiles into a boy enthralled by exotic supermobiles, I accomplished little more than scraping off the occasional bits of decades-old wallpaper.  And, bless his heart, as he saw us facelift his big brother’s and sister’s rooms over the years, he would gently wonder aloud our eventual plans for his room.

Well, eight years (and three kids) later, the job is finally complete, and I’m pretty thrilled about how it turned out!

Whenever we’d asked him recently what color he wanted his walls, he’d answered that he wanted “neon blue”.  I was at a loss for exactly how to capture “neon blue” without the glow of neon.  After a good bit of deliberation, I settled on the below look of blue gradients from dark to light, skewed based on the orientation of his window.

To accomplish it, I painted the walls white where you now see stripes then taped them off to keep as white stripes. Then, I gradiated the blue in sections dark to light.  The wall opposite the horizontal stripes is all the lighter color blue to maximize the brightness coming through the window and prevent the room from being too dark.

Caleb's new room 1

Caleb's new room 2

The black “framed” area above his bed is actually Rust-Oleum magnetic primer.  Previously, that’s where his desk was, and my plan was to create a magnetic “pin board” area above it.  It didn’t work out quite as planned.  First, the magnetism was only sufficient for lightweight magnets alone and not for hanging pictures and documents, so I quickly crafted a “plan B” that incorporated a piece of sheet metal to allow some real magnetism that he could actually hang stuff on.

The blue rectangle in the middle is the sheet metal.  To prep it, I cleaned it with vinegar, spray painted blue, and trimmed with white duct tape.  All that, just in hopes of saving the wall some tack-holes and tape damage down the line.  Still, I think it’s a neat little twist to the decor, so I’m glad it turned out as it did.

Pretty groovy, huh?

15 comments on “Caleb’s New Blue Room!

  1. mdmack
    June 22, 2013

    I like it. The colors of blue look very nice. It looks great. Love Mom

    ________________________________

  2. Marvin and Carole Hurdle
    June 22, 2013

    Really like this, so creative! I’ll bet he really likes it. Great job!

  3. Shannon Kuerst
    June 23, 2013

    I bet he loved it!

  4. Grande Falcone
    June 23, 2013

    Thanks all! Yes, he really likes it. I would like to take it one step further and add some “neon” by painting blue glow in the dark stars on the ceiling, sort of like this: http://www.glowforum.com/gallery/glow-images.php?picture=216
    That probably won’t happen, though.

  5. Pingback: Facelifting the Basement | Falcone's Crossroads

  6. An impressive share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a coworker
    who has been conducting a little research on this.

    And he actually ordered me dinner due to the fact that I discovered it for him…
    lol. So let me reword this…. Thanks for the meal!!
    But yeah, thanks for spending some time to talk about this matter
    here on your website.

  7. Underwear Calvin Klein
    December 27, 2013

    Howdy would you mind stating which blog platform you’re using?
    I’m looking to start my own blog soon but I’m having a hard time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.

    The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and
    I’m looking for something unique. P.S My apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

  8. Pingback: 2013 in the Falcone Household | Falcone's Crossroads

  9. funda iPhone 5
    January 1, 2014

    What’s up, I log on to your blogs regularly.
    Your story-telling style is awesome, keep it up!

  10. injustice ios cheats
    January 14, 2014

    Just want to say your article is as amazing. The clarity
    for your submit is simply spectacular and that i can assume you’re an expert
    in this subject. Fine with your permission allow me
    to take hold of your RSS feed to keep updated with imminent post.
    Thanks 1,000,000 and please continue the enjoyable
    work.

  11. frank kern marketing
    January 23, 2014

    The difference, however, is that membership ends after a fixed term, such as three
    months, six months a year or more. I don’t know if that qualifies me as an Internet marketer or not –
    probably not. Track every single piece of content you put
    on the web for your business.

  12. Hey there! I understand this is kind of off-topic but I needed to ask.
    Does building a well-established website like yours require a lot of work?
    I am brand new to writing a blog however I do write in my journal on
    a daily basis. I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share
    my personal experience and views online. Please let me know
    if you have any ideas or tips for brand new aspiring blog owners.
    Appreciate it!

  13. u-picardie.fr
    January 26, 2014

    Sample metrics to listen for include increase in average time on site, decrease in bounce rate, and increase in conversions.
    When you hire an SEO Company India, you can be certain of getting free consultations and analysis
    of your site before getting a promise of improving the search engine rankings.
    Indian SEO companies believe in the inherent and stimulation power of concepts.

  14. I am in fact delighted to glance at this blog posts which
    contains plenty of useful information, thanks for
    providing such statistics.

  15. DryEraseBoard.Sosblogs.com
    January 27, 2014

    I’m extremely impressed along with your writing abilities as well as with the structure in your
    weblog. Is that this a paid subject matter or did you
    customize it your self? Anyway keep up the nice
    quality writing, it’s uncommon to see a nice blog like this one today..

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on June 22, 2013 by in Crossing Guard and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
