Falcone's Crossroads

Where This Meets That

Oh Lordy, Falcone’s Forty!

primal breakfast birthday cake

What a great Birthday yesterday!

Christy told me she’d let me sleep in, so I awoke at 5:45AM ready to roll!  I wrote until everyone else surfaced, then I moved outside to complete the yard work I’d started the day before (including manly stuff, like chainsawing!)

Afterward, I came inside to find that my family had decorated the kitchen (Falcons red & black) and prepared for me a low-carb breakfast “birthday cake” made of cheese & sausage balls (almond & coconut flours instead of regular white) and scrambled eggs.  And a candle, of course!

The kids gave me huge, poster board-sized cards they had made, then Christy blew me away with an awesome new Nikon D3200 camera!  I’ve been wanting to upgrade from my iPhone camera, but I didn’t know that I had time for any new hobbies.  Apparently Christy thinks I do, and that’s just fantastic!

"Sweet" Card

For lunch, we moved to my parents’ house where my family gathered to celebrate.  I was honored that both Christy’s parents and mine, both of my sisters, my brother and his wife, two nieces, and even an out-of-town cousin’s family made the time to gather.  I was also honored to watch a video my niece Cassidy put together for me.  It contained several photos from my childhood that I hadn’t recalled seeing before.

Lunch was a tasty spread from Frontera Mex-Mex Grill, with all the trimmings, followed by a beautiful cake from Publix, and ice cream.  We even had a pirate piñata for my kids and me to destroy then plunder his booty!

From there, it was vigil Mass with New Atlanta Bishop David Talley returning to my parish.  He was a very dear pastor to us for several years, and it was wonderful to hear him again.

Then it was a rare but cherished dinner alone with Christy.  Again, we dined at Fogo de Chao, the carnevore’s delight.  A lot of meat and a tasty Malbec wine.  Enough said.

Honk!

As we discussed what to do next, Christy mentioned there was karaoke at a bar close to home.  Karaoke sounded like a great way to close the evening.   Unfortunately, we arrived to find that karaoke had been wrapped up early for the telecast of the Ultimate Fighting Championship.  It was on every TV and drew the most, ahem, interesting crowd.  We saw one guy with so many piercings that he looked like he walked through a hardware store with a magnetic head.  I just don’t get it, but hey, if I can’t sound like an old man heckling today’s youth now that I’ve turned 40, then what value is turning 40 anyway?

We had our drink then moved along to Wild Wing Cafe for our nightcap.  It was a great day that reminded me of just how loved and truly blessed I am in this life.

Within five minutes of attempting to get to bed, we met three of our five kids each coming to us in tears about separate issues.  Alas, back to reality.  Funny, 40 feels awfully similar to 39.

3 comments on “Oh Lordy, Falcone’s Forty!

  1. Christie
    May 27, 2013

    Aw, what a fun b-day! Happy belated day!

  2. Grande Falcone
    May 27, 2013

    Thanks Christie!

  3. Pingback: First Shots off My Birthday Camera | Falcone's Crossroads

Add Comment:

Information

This entry was posted on May 27, 2013 by in Crossing Guard and tagged , , , .
