Falcone's Crossroads

Where This Meets That

Wednesday Wordplay – “Skeleton in the Closet”

If you ever watched the TV show Home Improvement, you probably remember the character Wilson.  He was the wise, “faceless” neighbor who always stood ready to impart some wisdom to the show’s main character, Tim Home Improvement - Wilson“the Tool Man” Taylor.

Tim appreciated Wilson’s parables but always fumbled them in practice, usually badly mis-wording Wilson’s messages to take on hilariously wrong meanings.

I had one of those experiences with my three-year-old daughter Ava this past weekend.

As I’ve mentioned, we’re planning some renovations in our basement, and Ava walked in to find me marking stud locations in the closet (I know, that statement alone is probably worthy of its own “Wednesday Wordplay” post, but I digress …).

Flower child AvaWhen she asked what I was doing, I explained, “Just like we people have skeletons inside us to give us shape and hold us together, houses have frames.”  I clarified, “The frame is like a skeleton, but instead of bones, it is made of wood.  I am looking for those pieces of wood so that I can hang some new shelves on them.”

She nodded along curiously then vanished as suddenly as she’d appeared.  Back upstairs, my wife asked Ava what I was doing in the basement.  Ava shrugged and said, “He’s looking for a skeleton in the closet.”

One comment on “Wednesday Wordplay – “Skeleton in the Closet”

  1. glam metal bands
    August 6, 2013

    I was recommended this blog by my cousin.

    I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my trouble. You are wonderful! Thanks!

Add Comment:

Information

This entry was posted on May 1, 2013 by in Wednesday Wordplay and tagged , , , , , , , .
