Falcone's Crossroads

Where This Meets That

Friday Five: Flower Power

I completed the below post before this week’s tragic events in Boston and Texas and within my own family.   Now, with my brother-in-law’s funeral scheduled for Sunday, perhaps flowers are all the more appropriate for this week’s Friday Five.

+   +   + 

The couple who owned our house before us were crazy about flowers.Rainbow Row

Inside, practically every wall was papered in floral patterns – a plague that we’ve only partially eradicated in our eight years here.  The walls I’ve dared removing the paper from have revealed additional, unforeseen layers of paper behind.  As I removed layer after layer of one particular wall, I half expected to uncover a hidden safe or window.

Fortunately, the previous owners were avid planters, as well as wallpaperers, and this time of year, as the ubiquitous floral sprawl from our interior walls tumbles out into our yard, I would gladly welcome another window.

Last year, I succeeded in beating back some of the more aggressive weeds from the flower beds and also did some much-needed pruning.  I’m thrilled to see that my work last year has paid off pretty well this year, so for this week’s Friday Five, I thought I’d share some pictures.

Francis's Garden

Front Steps

Pink Cherry tree

Cherry Blossom Sky blue

Note: Long-time Crossroads readers might recall that I’ve gone through some extraordinary pains to add some redbud trees to our yard.  So, where are the redbuds?  I’m saddened to report that another spring has left us redbud blossomless.  I’m crossing my fingers for next year, but meantime, I’m in love with the blooms we do have!

4 comments on “Friday Five: Flower Power

  1. Marvin and Carole Hurdle
    April 19, 2013

    Absolutely Beautiful, Steven, and a very appropriate post! Love your family and look forward to hopefully getting to meet Catherine.

    Sent from my iPad

  2. Grande Falcone
    April 19, 2013

    Catherine will be there; we’re still debating whether to take Ava or not. Looking so forward to seeing you all!

  3. Anonymous
    April 19, 2013

    How lovely the flowers and St. Francis. Nice to see you can find beauty especially in tough times.

  4. Grande Falcone
    April 19, 2013

    Thanks for your comments. Beauty never dies, it just requires the right set of eyes.

Add Comment:

Information

This entry was posted on April 19, 2013 by in Friday Five and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
