Falcone's Crossroads

Where This Meets That

‘Twas the Weekend before Christmas

Autocorrect Bites Again!
I speak very poor Mandarin. In fact, the word “Mandarin” is probably the closest thing to a Mandarin word I can speak, so I deeply admire the many Chinese with whom I work who speak English so well.  Nevertheless, I must chuckle at the occasional linguistic miscue.  On Friday, I received a wish for a “Merry Christmas and a very phosphorous new year!”

Customer Service
I stood in line on Saturday morning to return a DVD at Best Buy.  I enjoyed a conversation with the patron before me while we waited.  We talked about our experiences of working retail jobs in our past and proposed that everyone should be required to work retail or fast food at some point in their lives in order to gain understanding for what these people go through. By the end, we had virtually sanctified the people working the customer service counter this time of year.

When I reached the customer service counter, the very managerial-looking guy spent about five minutes messing with his computer to give me a $4.26 refund.  Four dollar bills, five nickels, and a penny.  As he counted out the change, he singled out a nickel, looked puzzled at it then turned to me for validation, saying, “What is this again?  Five pennies?”  I agreed, took my change and went to Target.

Time for change, indeed.

In Target, I was looking for an alarm clock. I asked the girl working at the electronics counter if she could “point me in the direction of the alarm clocks?”  The searched her brain for about five seconds, shifting eyes side to side and pursing lips determinedly then made her decision. “That way,” she pointed with her pen.  When I asked how far “that way”, she said she really didn’t know.

Turns out it was all the way down to Bed, Bath, and Beyond.

I’m not complaining, mind you.  I know they hire all kinds before the Christmas rush, but . . . really?

Ugandan NativityUgandan Nativity
One of the highlights of the weekend came from our next door neighbors who came from Uganda. They gave us a handmade Ugandan Nativity scene.  It’s beautifully unique and now sitting on a pedestal in our foyer.

Uganda is one of the poorest nations in the world.  According to the World Bank, thirty-eight percent of Ugandans live on less than $1.25 per day.  When I look at this craft, I have to wonder at the hope the Nativity contains for the hands that made it.

We are so very blessed, and I will cherish this Nativity as a reminder of our many blessings.

I wish you all a very Merry Christmas!

One comment on “‘Twas the Weekend before Christmas

  1. Pingback: Hats off to Jim Ellis Automotive Group | Falcone's Crossroads

Add Comment:

Information

This entry was posted on December 24, 2012 by in Crossing Guard and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
