Falcone's Crossroads

Where This Meets That

Tuesday Tunage – Dickey Betts

“Tuesday Tunage” is a weekly spotlight for music I deem worthy of a spotlight. To make it worth all of our time, I’ll do my best to emphasize tunes you probably haven’t heard before that represent the art in all its glorious varieties.

I’m slipping back to 1977 this week with a beautiful tune by The Allman Brothers Band‘s lead guitarist Dickey Betts.

Betts celebrates his sixty-ninth birthday this week, and “Bougainvillea” is the closing track on his album Dickey Betts and Great Southern. “Bougainvillea” always sweeps me away with its delicate southern vocal harmonies vocals and sublime guitar work. To top it off, Don Johnson (yeah, that one) co-wrote the song and even sings background, which is really great because it saves me from ever having to use a Tuesday Tunage on this.

Take a listen below. I hope you enjoy “Bougainvillea” as much as I do!

2 comments on “Tuesday Tunage – Dickey Betts

  1. mdmack
    December 11, 2012

    Is this about a home North west of New ORleans that is on the picture? If so I believe I’ve been there. It was a pinkish/corally color and beautiful just off the levie of the MS River. I don’t remember hearing the song though. Love Mom

    ________________________________

  2. Grande Falcone
    December 14, 2012

    That’s a good question. It wouldn’t surprise me, but I don’t know. The album’s not well-enough known to find any notes about the cover art.

Add Comment:

Information

This entry was posted on December 11, 2012 by in Music Notes, Tuesday Tunage and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
