Falcone's Crossroads

Where This Meets That

Tuesday Tunage – Kevn Kinney

“Tuesday Tunage” is a weekly spotlight for music I deem worthy of a spotlight. To make it worth all of our time, I’ll do my best to emphasize tunes you probably haven’t heard before that represent the art in all its glorious varieties.

From last week’s German electronica entry, we jump the tracks this week to modern country & western featuring one of my very favorite songwriters, Kevn Kinney.

I first connected with Kinney’s music in high school when he was best known as frontman for southern hair(ish)-band Drivin’N’Cryin’, but it’s his solo work that has stayed with me over the years.  I consider him a true poet of Americana, with words that can make me choke-up on the flipside of a chuckle.

The beat that drives “This Train Don’t Stop at the Millworks Anymore” recalls the clickety-clack of an old rural train ride graced with a vibrant pedal steel guitar. Kinney’s words lament the effects of globalization on small industrial America, yet the memories of which he sings make up riches no business can ever outsource.

I hope you enjoy this track as much as I do!

Add Comment:

