Falcone's Crossroads

Where This Meets That

Wednesday Wordplay – Happy Thanksgiving!

This being Thanksgiving week, I’m going a little solemn with the wordplay and expounding on something I touched on in my June post called, I is the Antichrist”.

In Matthew 6:22-23, Jesus says, “The lamp of the body is the eye. If your eye is sound, your whole body will be filled with light; but if your eye is bad, your whole body will be in darkness. And if the light in you is darkness, how great will the darkness be.”

Ann Voskamp’s wonderful book of Christian gratitude One Thousand Gifts is full of great insights on the importance of thanksgiving, so I’m going to take the liberty of weaving together a few quotes from it into a single, concise message before coming back around to justify this post as “wordplay”. 🙂

[Thanksgiving] always precedes the miracle. Our fall was, has always been, and always will be, that we aren’t satisfied in God and what He gives. We hunger for something more, something other. [Life] change comes when we receive life with thanks and ask for nothing to change. And when I give thanks for the seemingly microscopic, I make a place for God to grow within me. Gratitude for the seemingly insignificant—a seed—this plants the giant miracle. How my eyes see, perspective, is my key to enter into His gates. I can only do so with thanksgiving. If my inner eye has God seeping up through all things, then can’t I give thanks for anything? And if I can give thanks for the good things, the hard things, the absolute everything, I can enter the gates to glory. Living in His presence is fullness of joy- and seeing shows the way in.

Ah, that last bit brings us back full circle to the “lamp of the body” being the eye – and the segue to the “wordplay”. In the original post, I replaced the word “eye” in the parable with “I”, to read: “The lamp of the body is the ‘I’. If your ‘I’ is sound, your whole body will be filled with light; but if your ‘I’ is bad, your whole body will be in darkness. And if the light in you is darkness, how great will the darkness be.”

I used to take this parable to apply to the things we choose to consume, but I now read this to pertain to the lens through which we view the world. In essence, the more thankful I am, the less I long, and the less I long, the happier I am.

For my “eye” to view my life through the lens of gratitude instead of want, then “I” become thankful with my whole being, and to live a life full of thanksgiving is to “be filled with light”.

Happiness, therefore, is thanksgiving, and so on that note I wish you all many happy thanksgivings!

Gobble-gobble!

4 comments on “Wednesday Wordplay – Happy Thanksgiving!

  1. Pingback: Giving Thanks in 2012 | Tip the Scales 2012!

  2. Pingback: Giving Thanks in 2012 « Falcone's Crossroads

  3. Pingback: “The Gift of an Ordinary Day” | Falcone's Crossroads

  4. Pingback: Friday Five – Wise Words | Falcone's Crossroads

Add Comment:

