Falcone's Crossroads

Where This Meets That

Friday Five: Praying in Color

Sybil MacBeth’s 2007 book Praying in Color offers simple instructions on an interesting form of prayer known as “prayer doodling”.   I, for one, am not a very good “pray-er” in the normal sense. My mind is all over the place, and it’s tough to get myself centered in prayer.  Journaling is a tool that helps many to improve their prayer lives, and prayer doodling is a creative variation of that.

There are no “rules” to this practice, but the benefits I’ve found are that it can improve my focus while also producing a record of prayers I’ve recorded before, a reminder of things I should still be praying for or giving thanks for.

For this week’s Friday Five, I decided to share some of mine.  You can check out the website at the link above for plenty of other examples, should this technique interest you in your own life.

1)  Probably my most “doodle-esque” prayer doodle, just simply listing things I’m thankful for.

2)  It’s never too early (or late) to pray for someone. This one is aims, on the surface, at praying for my children’s future spouses but really is for all their life pursuits, passions, relationships, etc..

3)  A reflection on my shortcomings, my spiritual anchors that hold me down. The other balloons are virtues that I aspire to in order to free myself from the world.

4)  I drew this one on a silent retreat. Just a reflection on the Crucifixion from an unusual perspective.  In the distance, the shadow of the cross rises to clouds that might also mirror God’s mourning face. 

5)  A reflection on one of my favorite verses, which I’ve paraphrased in print.

Have a great weekend, Everyone!

4 comments on “Friday Five: Praying in Color

  1. rosesnearrunningwaters
    November 10, 2012

    Beautiful drawings and what a wonderulf idea for prayer! Thank you for sharing!!

  2. Grande Falcone
    November 10, 2012

    Thanks Roses! You should check out the book I linked to; it’s a one-night read.

  3. Pingback: The Monday Jump « Falcone's Crossroads

  4. Pingback: “Crowned” – A Portrait for Good Friday | Falcone's Crossroads

Add Comment:

Information

This entry was posted on November 9, 2012 by in Crossing Guard and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
