Falcone's Crossroads

Where This Meets That

Wednesday Wordplay – Laughing Gas

Preface: At my present age and station in life, I do recognize that the appropriate expression for passing gas is, well, “passing gas”.  But at the age I was when this story occurred, it was a “fart”.  Straight up.  So, sorry Christy, I’m gonna tell it like it was!

+   +   +

When I was a kid, I loved to fart around one of my sisters.  It was always a way to disarm her.

Still is, actually.

She warned me countless times through cackling tears that if I didn’t stop farting on purpose, then one day I wouldn’t be able to stop.  But I knew better than that. I prided myself on being some kind of farting prodigy, able to turn it on and off at will.  I could fart on a dime.  In fact, I’m pretty sure I did once.

But one evening, gathered around the dinner table with a visiting uncle sitting next to me, my sister’s warning played out in spades.

I felt it come on and did my best to minimize it.  Out of courtesy to my uncle, respect for the family dinner, and personal pride, I tried to regulate it, but fate conspired against me.  It escaped. Not too loud, but certainly more audibly than hoped.

My other sister has a rule regarding such circumstances; one should say “excuse me” in direct proportion to the volume of the offense. In this case, maybe that gave me a pass.  Maybe my uncle hadn’t heard; he didn’t seem to notice.

Oh, but my “told you so” sister did. I didn’t have to look at her to sense her holding back laughter. The look of shock on my face was probably as funny as the offense itself.  She and I tried so hard not to laugh, but my stifled laughter mounted pressure that, well, had to escape from somewhere, and so it did.

Prolifically.

It suddenly seemed like a jailbreak of stinky little rats bailing from a sinking, burning ship. A sinking, burning, hilariously humbling ship.

Come to think of it, I don’t remember ever asking to be excused.  Maybe it was beyond excusing.  Maybe my scarlet face was penance enough.  I had certainly learned a lesson:  to this day, I don’t think I’ve ever quite trusted another fart.

So there you have it, boys and girls, our wordplay for today: Laughing Gas.

One comment on “Wednesday Wordplay – Laughing Gas

  1. Pingback: Wednesday Wordplay: Emissions Inspection « Falcone's Crossroads

Add Comment:

Information

This entry was posted on October 24, 2012 by in Wednesday Wordplay and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .
