Falcone's Crossroads

Where This Meets That

Week 34: "There is no 'try'"

I am pleased with my progress so far but not satisfied.  

I went for walk/runs six days this past week, five of which went for over two miles, and I have actually felt quite good after them!  I have also been very focused on my diet, while consciously allowing myself a daily indulgence of microwave popcorn and diet sodas (in addition to my 100+ ounces of water intake).   Yet, here I am up a pound over last week and still stuck on a relative plateau.  

Thus, I must reassess. 

Over at my other blog, Falcone’s Crossroads, I start each Monday with an inspirational quote for that week.  This past week’s quote came from wise jedi master Yoda: “Do or do not; there is no ‘try’.”

In other words, do what is necessary. Leave no excuses. Have no regrets. 

So for week 34, I am making the difficult decision to can sodas and bag popcorn (puns intended).  Further, I’m cutting out eating after 9PM.  These are tough decisions even for just a week, as they are habits that have become crutches for me.

While putting these decisions down in writing, I worked really hard to not include “try” in my wording.  After all, these “sacrifices” are luxuries the poorest of the poor have no choice in; the least I can do is to DO.  

So, as always, I thank you for your prayers; this can’t work without those. I’m talking to you, too, Yoda!

If you’d like to add your support to Tip the Scales 2012!, please email me your pledge today at tipthescales2012@gmail.com!

Add Comment:

