Falcone's Crossroads

Where This Meets That

Week 33: Best Week Yet (in Some Ways)

In some ways, I feel like this has been the best week yet.

I lost just short of a pound this week, dipping below the 254 mark.  I also received another $100 pledge, the first in weeks.  But beyond weight lost and money raised, I felt like I psychologically turned a major corner. 

I woke up early four mornings this week and went for a “walk run”.  My daughter joined me on two mornings, which got her out running and also gave us some good time together (although I am thankful nobody called the police on the large man they saw chasing that little girl down the sidewalk!).

As I’ve said before, I loathe exercise for the sake of exercising, but this week was different.  By mixing in walking, jogging, and outright sprinting (well . . . as much as one can call what I do “sprinting”), it wasn’t so boring.  It also left me feeling pretty good!  In fact, when I woke up Saturday morning, I was actually a little disappointed that I couldn’t get a walk in due to our schedule. 

I did two miles this morning, however, for the third time in the past week, running more than either of the previous times.  

Also, I felt more disciplined and more at ease with my diet throughout this week than probably any week yet.  I think it’s the knowledge that, even five months from the deadline, this is crunch time.  Now is the time to really push myself to step up my game. 

It’s a great feeling to sense solid footing on a forward path.  And it’s a great feeling to know my kids are starting to notice and even wanting to join my “walk” to any degree. 

It’s a feeling of joy in carrying my cross. A feeling of being alive!  I’m looking forward to what this next week has in store!

Thanks again for all your prayers and support!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you’d like to add your support to Tip the Scales 2012!, please email me your pledge today at tipthescales2012@gmail.com!

 

 

2 comments on “Week 33: Best Week Yet (in Some Ways)

  1. wqly950
    August 19, 2012

    Steve, well-done! Really nice that your daughter is sharing that time with you. Hang in-there…Wonderful post!

  2. Grande Falcone
    August 19, 2012

    Thanks Bob.

Add Comment:

