Falcone's Crossroads

Where This Meets That

The Monday Jump! – John Wooden

As the Notre Dame football team makes its way down a stairwell between the locker room and the field for every home game, each player touches a sign that reads simply, “Play Like a Champion Today.”

I love quotes. I love their ability to relate, rally, and inspire.

As the kids headed back to school last week, the idea hit me to select a simple motivational quote each week and post it in our stairwell each Monday. My hope is that, on some level, seeing these quotes many times each day, each quote across a week, will soak these simple, positive notions into each of our subconscious and supplement the teachings we try to get across to our kids.

While I’m at it, I figured, heck, what’s good for our household is good for Falcone’s Crossroads.  Thus do I hereby establish “The Monday Jump”. Hopefully it will add a little oomph to your attitude each Monday; we all need it wherever we can get it!

As always, feel free to share some of your own favorites in the Comments section below. Perhaps I’ll add it to my list!

Here is the first:

20120813-001215.jpg

I hope your Monday is a “masterpiece”!

7 comments on “The Monday Jump! – John Wooden

  1. Karen
    August 13, 2012

    I’ve thought about doing something like this. Posting some of my personal favorites in the kid’s rooms but I like your idea where everyone can see them more. Hmmm…. My contribution is my Granny’s motto: “Changed attitudes change everything.”

  2. Grande Falcone
    August 13, 2012

    Good one. Maddie said I should use Ferris Beuller’s, “Life moves pretty fast; if you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.”

  3. Lori Bisser
    August 13, 2012

    When I was a kid we had a step stool in the bathroom so I could reach the sink. It had a picture of a carousel and the words, “wash hands and face and do it well, when you step on this carousel,” These were probably some of the first words I decoded when beginning to read because they were always there-so they totally stuck with me. So–I’ve been doing this quote thing that you suggest on the kids mirrors and in hallways for years… hopefully they’ll remember one, be inspired by something… when you come in my house you see, “Peace be with you.” When you leave you see, “Godspeed.” In the kids bathroom hangs a list of comparisons of what man thinks vs, how God works. The word “Ephaphtha” (Be opened) is waiting to hang on my bedroom exit door, and “metanoia,” on my closet door. I am probably the extreme when it comes to words and quotes, scattered about. My brain is constantly going in a million directions, so powerful words help me to stay the course.

    -Thank you for sharing yours here!

  4. Grande Falcone
    August 13, 2012

    That’s neat, Lori. I did actually think about posting little ones around the place (we have the Serenity Prayer in our family room) but thought it might stand out a little more this way. Then I sent each of them out the door today with these words as farewell. 🙂

  5. pouringmyartout
    August 13, 2012

    I like a nice inspirational quote… but I love the ones that point out some glaring weakness in the human condition even more…

  6. Grande Falcone
    August 13, 2012

    They all have their place.

  7. pouringmyartout
    August 13, 2012

    Words of wisom are always good to have.

Add Comment:

Information

This entry was posted on August 13, 2012 by in The Monday Jump and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
