Falcone's Crossroads

Where This Meets That

Happy Memorial Day

I sat next to a soldier from Ohio during a flight last week. He was heading back to Afghanistan after emergency leave to attend his mother-in-law’s funeral. He’d already served 11 1/2 months there and, in his own words, “I [really] hate that place”

His wife is in the service, as well, presumably on another plane, grieving the loss of her mother and maybe her own destination, as well.

I thanked the soldier for his and his wife’s service to our nation. I gave him my peanuts and cookies. I offered him my headphones. I ultimately respected his right to reflect silently.

How can I really relate to what our military does on a daily basis where every breath, every call or home could be their last?  I really can’t.  All I can do is be thankful for their courage and prayerful for their safe return.

Thank you for all you veterans who have laid down your lives in your service!

Here is a video that I’ve posted before, but it’s a worthy re-post on this Memorial Day.

3 comments on “Happy Memorial Day

  1. pouringmyartout
    May 29, 2012

    Wow. We take them so for granted when we don’t see them.

  2. Pingback: Week 22: 50 DOWN!!! | Tip the Scales 2012!

  3. Pingback: Week 22: 50 DOWN!!! « Falcone's Crossroads

Add Comment:

