Falcone's Crossroads

Where This Meets That

Falcone’s Friday Five: The Yardbirds & the “Who”

No, I’m not talking Beck, Townshend, Clapton, or Page here but actual birds.  Over the past month of incessantly watering new grass in our back yard, I’ve noticed a steady influx of birds big and small.  I never knew constant watering would make our yard a bird sanctuary.

Here are five notables who have begun frequenting our back yard. Note: I did not take these pictures!

1. Ruby-throated Hummingbird  We have trumpet vines that engulf several pine trees in our yard in beautiful red flowers this time of year.  Hummingbirds love them.  Interestingly, I’ve seen a couple hummingbirds doing some aerial bathing in the fine spray of the sprinkler.

2. White-throated Sparrow  These little guys are everywhere. The other day, I watched a chipmunk climbing through some of our thickly branched variegated privet, and he was surrounded by these. Since they are colored so much like chipmunks, I thought I might be witnessing some real-world Disney-type adventure where young birds mistakenly tag onto a chipmunk who looks like their mother.

3. Gray Catbird  I don’t recall ever seeing this one before, though I’ve heard of it many times. Funny, I never knew what the “catbird seat” idiom meant; turns out, nothing to do with a cat.  This bird has a lovely song, though.

4. Bluebird  My father-in-law brought us a bluebird house earlier this spring and it seems to have been inhabited by sparrows. We thought about evicting them but decided to let it slide when we noticed that bluebirds are indeed visiting our yard. Who knows where they live, but it’s not the bluebird house.  Such pretty birds.

5. Barred Owl  By far the king of this list. I always thought owls only became active at night, but we kept hearing this deep, unique call in the middle of the day in the wooded area behind our home that would receive answers from other, more distant locations.  The one “who” resides behind our yard is a good-sized owl with probably a 4-foot wingspan. The few glimpses we’ve seen of him aflight have been majestic.  Now, if he would just see that chipmunk!

“Musical Note”: Check back this weekend to hear my new song, “Someone Else’s Winter”!

12 comments on “Falcone’s Friday Five: The Yardbirds & the “Who”

  1. pouringmyartout
    May 18, 2012

    My mom got me into bird watching I love birds, even though I think I am too young to be a bird watcher. I also like the Who and the Yardbirds… so what’s not to like about this post?

  2. Grande Falcone
    May 22, 2012

    Great point about being “too young to be a birdwatcher”! Funny, when I was a kid, I thought of it as a profession.

  3. pouringmyartout
    May 22, 2012

    It just has that stigma of being uncool. But I love it. Not very good at it… My mom recognizes birds by sound. My wife’s uncle has cameras with 4 foot lenses and does bird photos, and sets up barn owl houses.

  4. Grande Falcone
    May 23, 2012

    Thank God for the iPhone. Sure, it fails to match the quality of the 4-ft lens, but you simply can’t beat its pocket-ready convenience!

  5. pouringmyartout
    May 23, 2012

    Does it have good zoom?

  6. Grande Falcone
    May 23, 2012

    Nope. Terrible. It takes great pictures of clear, well-lit subjects. It falls short in other areas, but there’s a lot to be said for always having a camera at the ready.

  7. pouringmyartout
    May 23, 2012

    Right, but birds move a lot and are usually far away.

  8. Grande Falcone
    May 23, 2012

    Thus I pulled the pics I used off Google instead of my iPhone. 🙂

  9. pouringmyartout
    May 23, 2012

    Got it.

  10. Pingback: Falcone’s Friday Five: Birds of a Feather « Falcone's Crossroads

  11. Pingback: Friday Five: Adorable Animal Pics « Falcone's Crossroads

  12. Pingback: Friday Five: Wild Beauty | Falcone's Crossroads

Add Comment:

Information

This entry was posted on May 18, 2012 by in Friday Five and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
