Falcone's Crossroads

Where This Meets That

Recipe: Low-Carb Pizza

Not long ago, I was quick to defend pizza as the perfect food. It’s got your dairy, your veggies, your meats, and your breads, and pretty much anything else you want.

Since I’m foregoing processed carbs and starches, however, pizza crust is my sworn enemy.  I’m forced to assess some alternatives on our weekly movie & pizza night.

Using high fiber tortillas for crusts is a solid, quick alternative, but it wears thin (pardon the pun).  So, I set out to find other potential options.

My search led me to an awful sounding, bread-free, egg-based crust.  As gross as it sounded, all the reviews I read were very positive, so I modified the recipe a little and rolled the dice.

Ingredients
4 eggs
6oz cream cheese
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1 1/2 tsp oregano
1/2 tsp salt
Pinch of black pepper
Dash of cayenne pepper
1 cup shredded Italian cheeses (mostly parmesan, as its hardness will “frame” the crust)

Directions
1) Heat oven to 350F
2) Thoroughly blend eggs & room temperature cream cheese in bowl
3) Add all seasoning, and blend again
4) Cover the bottom of a buttered 9×13 baking pan with the cheese
5) Pour egg & cream cheese mixture evenly over the layer of cheese, then tap the pan a little to help “set” the crust
6) Place in oven for 22-25 minutes. Remove when top is browning.

7) Add sauce and all your favorite toppings and return to oven.

8) Bake another 13-15 minutes until done to your liking. Then, voila!


The Results?

Looks pretty tasty, huh?  But still, a bread-less pizza leaves you skeptical.

I was actually quite impressed with the results.  The “surprisingly” did take on a bread-like substance.  I ate it with a fork but probably didn’t really even need to.  And in fact, it actually held over pretty well to the next day, too!

The only real flaw I could find was inside my own mind, knowing what concoction I was actually eating.

Will There be a Next Time?
Yes, although I might tweak the recipe a little further from the original by:
– including more parmesan in the base cheese mixture (for the pan bottom)
– reducing eggs from 4 to 3

These tweaks are for my personal preference, thinking they might add a little to the “crispness” factor.  The most important lesson is that I will indeed be making this again sometime soon!

5 comments on “Recipe: Low-Carb Pizza

  1. wartica
    January 21, 2012

    I will be trying this out sometime this weekend:)) Thanks for the tips!!

  2. Grande Falcone
    January 21, 2012

    Reblogged this on Falcone's Crossroads.

  3. Grande Falcone
    January 25, 2012

    Hey Wartica, did you get a chance to try this out?

  4. Pingback: Recipe: Low-Carb “Breading” | Tip the Scales 2012!

  5. Pingback: Weigh Station: “Mastering My Domain” « Falcone's Crossroads

Add Comment:

Information

This entry was posted on January 21, 2012 by in Food & Drink, The Weigh Station and tagged , , , , , , , , .
