Falcone's Crossroads

Where This Meets That

Roadmap to 100 Pounds

How do I plan to meet my goal of losing 100 pounds in 50 weeks and raise donations for the Missionaries of the Poor?

There are so many gimmicks out there for losing weight “fast” and “easily” that it’s almost easy to buy the pitch. I could reduce food intake, buy a Shake Weight, or drink fake milkshakes.

The way I see it, though, it all comes down to two things:
1. Genetics
2. Discipline

Can’t do anything about the first. The second is my lifelong struggle. But how to direct my desired discipline for optimal results is the fundamental question.

Conventional wisdom says I should cut calories and increase activity. But as science journalist Gary Taubes reminds us in his book Good Calories, Bad Calories, calories are the fuel by which we drive increased activity. Conventional wisdom is largely flawed; it is not how much we eat but what we eat that factors most.

My wise (and fit) friend Denis compares a healthy lifestyle to a three legged stool with the following legs:

1. Eating habits
2. Physical fitness
3. Spiritual fitness

The less equality between the three legs, the less stable the overall health.  So, I hereby place my 2012 squarely on this stool.

Below is my basic plan.

Eating Habits

– Lots of water.  Target 100 oz/day
– Diet sodas and alcohol in moderation, only after 100 oz of water for the day
– “Food is fuel” mindset
– Meats, beans, veggies, and cheeses are OK
– At least 5 servings of fruits & veggies per day
– Minimize processed carbs and starches.  No pastas, rices, breads, cereals, pastries, etc.. Fresh fruits and vegetables only. High fiber tortillas & flat wraps are OK for occasional sandwiches.

Physical Fitness

– Take stairs instead of elevators
– At 300 lbs, start walking routine
– At 275 lbs, mix walking / running

Spiritual Fitness

– Devotion to this TS2012 cause
– “Daylight fast” on Fridays through Easter (no eating until sundown)
– Better focus on my blessings
– Increased spiritual reading 

The 2011 Lesson

My “three-legged stool” was strong and balanced in the early going in 2011. My eating habits became a weak leg that collapsed incredibly quickly.  By the end of the year, my physical fitness leg had collapsed, as well, and my balance on the spiritual fitness leg became very fragile, as well.

But, as Dr. Thomas Wayne tells his son Bruce in the film Batman Begins: “And why do we fall, Bruce? So we can learn to pick ourselves up.”

Thanks again to everyone for the fantastic early support!

4 comments on “Roadmap to 100 Pounds

  1. wartica
    January 12, 2012

    Good luck on your journey; those first steps are always the hardest but once you get going, anything is possible. Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you 🙂 )

  2. Tip the Scales 2012!
    January 12, 2012

    Hey Wartica, thanks for the support and for following the cause. I hope you enjoy the ride! 🙂

  3. Cindy
    January 12, 2012

    Hey Steve,
    Dr. Oz’s book You On A Diet fits pretty well with your plan, but more importantly, it does a great job of educating the reader. When you said “food is fuel” it made me think of it. Sometimes when I start to slide out of that mindset, as I often do, I pick up that book. Let me know if you want to borrow it, and I’ll send it to work with Tom.
    To your health!
    Cindy

  4. Pingback: Week 28: . . . And 4 Steps Back | Tip the Scales 2012!

Add Comment:

