Falcone's Crossroads

Where This Meets That

The City Harmonic’s “I Have a Dream (It Feels Like Home) – 2011

I discovered the band The City Harmonic during my recent trip to San Jose.  They are an alternative Christian band from Canada whose sound is strikingly reminiscent of popular mainstream artists Coldplay and U2.

After hearing two songs on Air1 Radio, I previewed a few other tracks on their new album I Have a Dream (It Feels Like Home) on iTunes and then took the increasingly rare step of downloading the entire album.

I must say, I’m impressed.

While I do genuinely enjoy some contemporary Christian songs, they are somewhat few and far between. The vocals and/or lyrics usually seem a little contrived to me, and the music frequently lacks imagination in its arrangements.

I Have a Dream (It Feels Like Home) resists all these preconceptions. The vocals and lyrics flow smoothly and feel genuine. The production is texturally rich, and the arrangements are fresh throughout, with great builds and releases to keep my ear listening.

Among the many highlights are “Spark” and “Mountaintop”, bound beautifully together by MLK’s stirring “Mountaintop” speech from the day before his assassination.  “Fell Apart” and “Holy (Wedding Day)” are other impressive tracks, as is the title track, whose hook will loop through your mind long after you’ve hit stop.

Highly recommended for downloading this Thanksgiving.

I Have a Dream (It Feels Like Home) score: 4 Falcone Rings

As a side note, I left my radio tuned to Air1 during my entire stay in San Jose. That’s a rare find, as I’m usually bouncing all around the Silicon Valley dial.  Check it out.

Add Comment:

Information

This entry was posted on November 22, 2011 by in Music Notes and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
