Falcone's Crossroads

Where This Meets That

Solar Flares and Shimmering Skies

If you haven’t heard, the Sun has been pretty ornery this week, blasting a couple huge solar flares earthward. Such large flares might become more common over the next year or so and have already resulted in increased aurorae around northern Europe and Asia.

This got me to googling auroras (how’s that for a band name?), and my brief search reminded me of just what awesome phenomena auroras are. I really hope to be able to witness one firsthand at some point in my life.

Today’s post is simply an appreciation of auroras. I hope you enjoy!

First is a spectacular and unusual perspective from time lapsed pictures taken by the International Space Station as it passed between Madagascar and Australia earlier this month.

<object style="height: 390px; width: 640px”>

Here is another beautiful compilation I came across of film taken in Norway. So beautiful!

<object style="height: 390px; width: 640px”>

Happy Friday!

3 comments on “Solar Flares and Shimmering Skies

  1. Shirley Whiteside McCormack
    September 30, 2011

    Beautiful pictures. I think I’ve seen a couple but I thought they had more red in them. I just remember the beauty of it but also as a little girl I remember feeling afraid of the unusualness of it as I heard my parents wonder WHAT it was and then they realized.

  2. Pingback: Mountain Madness: a Fall Trip Chronicle « Falcone's Crossroads

  3. Pingback: The “Day of Parallels” and Falcone’s Friday Five « Falcone's Crossroads

Add Comment:

Information

This entry was posted on September 30, 2011 by in Crossing Guard and tagged , , , , , , , , .
